The 11th OpenSky Symposium

30/31 October 2023 - Toulouse, France


Since its launch in 2013, the OpenSky Network has quickly evolved to a large-scale air traffic control data collection and sharing platform. With more than 5000 sensors registered across the globe and more than 50000 users, the OpenSky Network is greatly contributing towards the vision of a more efficient, secure, and reliable operation of the airspace by providing open accessibility of air traffic control data to the public.

Following the successful events in past years, we are proud to announce the 11th OpenSky Symposium. The two-day event will be co-hosted by ONERA and ISAE Supaero (France) in October 2023. Since the 8th iteration, the Symposium is also supported by the Performance Review Commission (PRC) of EUROCONTROL. The PRC aims to establish an Open Performance Data platform available in cooperation with Opensky Network and its community and will support the Symposium and some of the most relevant submissions. We encourage all submissions to consider the PRC research challenges outlined at the 10th Symposium on Safety (airspace complexity, flight interactions/separation), Environment (estimation of fuel burn/emissions) and System/Network Performance (traffic flow interdependencies).

The event is targeted at anyone interested in data-based aviation research. The Symposium will serve as a forum to discuss new ideas, the network itself, and research activities around OpenSky. Participants are invited to actively contribute to the program by presenting their projects at the Symposium. In the past years, the symposium attracted a diverse and interesting audience from research, authorities, and industry.

We are principally aiming for an in-person event to foster creative exchanges and discussions. There will be many opportunities to get to know the community during the social activities around the Symposium program.

The websites of previous workshops can be found here:

Submission Guidelines

All submissions should be prepared with the JOAS template (zip)
You can also use the online Overleaf template .

The publication of final papers in the Journal of Open Aviation Science shall comply with its open data and reproducibility guidelines.

Selected Full Papers

Authors with accepted full papers are invited to submit the full papers and to present at the symposium.

Use the following settings in your main latex file main.tex
Line 2: manuscript=proceedings
Line 11: \conference{The 11th OpenSky Symposium}

  1. Deadline: October 25, 2023
  2. Requirement: Submissions describing and explaining the work in full detail, with a focus on open data and reproducibility
  3. Page limit: 14 pages (without bibliography)
  4. Submission: The JOAS platform is used to collect full papers and provide further review comments. Submit your paper at
    Create an account, log in, and select "OpenSky Symposium" in the Section dropdown menu.


Authors with accepted posters are invited to submit a short paper (following the JOAS template) and a poster (A0 format, free template) to be presented at the symposium.

Use the following settings in your main latex file main.tex for the short paper.
Please pick the latest version of the joas.cls file.
Line 2: manuscript=poster (different from the abstract submission)
Line 11: \conference{The 11th OpenSky Symposium}

  1. Deadline: October 25, 2023
  2. Requirement: A poster (A0 format) accompanied by a short paper explaining the work.
    Only printed posters will be posted. You have to print and carry your poster to the conference venue.
  3. Page limit: 4 pages
  4. Submission: The JOAS platform is used to collect the files and perform minor checks before publication. Submit your paper at
    Create an account, log in, and select "OpenSky Symposium" in the Section dropdown menu.
    Include the PDF for the poster in the LaTeX source archive.

Important Dates

Abstracts due August 25, 2023  September 1, 2023 (extended deadline)
Notification to authors September 15, 2023
Programme online September 25, 2023
Full papers due October 25, 2023
Symposium October 30/31, 2023


Program Chair (correspondence) Tatiana Polishchuk (Linköping University)
General Chairs Xavier Olive (ONERA, France)
Laurent Joly (ISAE-SUPAERO, France)
Web Chair Martin Strohmeier (armasuisse, Switzerland)
Registration Chair Allan Tart (OpenSky Network, Switzerland)
Program Committee Emy Arts (DLR, Germany)
Vishwanath Bulusu (Crown Consulting, Inc and NASA Ames, USA)
Ramon Dalmau (EUROCONTROL, France)
Antonio Franco (University of Sevilla, Spain)
Rainer Kölle (EUROCONTROL, Belgium)
Vincent Lenders (armasuisse, Switzerland)
Max Li (University of Michigan, USA)
David Lovell (University of Maryland, USA)
Ivan Martinovic (University of Oxford, UK)
Xavier Olive (ONERA, France)
Raul Saez (ENRI, Japan)
Matthias Schäfer (SeRo Systems, Germany)
Michael Schultz (Bundeswehr University, Germany)
Enrico Spinielli (EUROCONTROL, Belgium)
Martin Strohmeier (armasuisse, Switzerland)
Junzi Sun (TU Delft, Netherlands)
Allan Tart (OpenSky Network, Switzerland)
Karim Zeghal (EUROCONTROL, France)
Yu Zhang (University of South Florida, USA)


The registration fees are*:

Regular In-Person Attendance 400 Euros
Academics (please use an email with your affiliation) 300 Euros
Online Attendance 30 Euros


The Symposium will take place at ISAE Supaero in Toulouse (France).

How to reach ISAE SUPAERO campus:

Few important facts:

  • Do not forget your ID, it is necessary to enter the campus. There will be signs to show you the way after the security booth.
  • If you come by plane, the tram service to and from the airport is interrupted at the moment. Consider other transportations between the airport and the city center.
  • When you choose your hotel, keep in mind how you will come to campus (try to stay close to subway line B or bus number 27). For reference, the social event on day 1 will be in the historical center, near "Place du Capitole". Everything in the center is within walking distance, only the campus is not.
  • The VélôToulouse option is actually the cheapest and fastest option to move around, but keep in mind there is limited parking space in designated stations. There are several stations within walking distance from ISAE SUPAERO main entrance but they can be full when you need to park.